An interview with Ruud Woltring

Believe in yourself, be true to yourself

bandiera_italianaNOTA: É presente la traduzione di quest’intervista in italiano

Hi Ruurd. Probably many people here don’t know who you are: tell us something about you and why you became famous.
My name is Ruurd Frans Johan Woltring, I’m 25 years old, I have an autistic disorder (not a heavy one) and I’m from the Netherlands. I work 3½ days at a copy/mailing shop and 2 mornings at a public elementary school. I became famous for working with the Dutch symphonic metal band EPICA.

What about your activity on YouTube? Do you define yourself a YouTuber?
Not really, I just like posting videos of me singing known and/or self-written songs, giving my opinion about certain subjects, etc. I always remain kind towards other YouTubers and never insult them. (A/N: instead, he has the beautiful habit of always thanking whoever makes a compliment or a critique… lately Youtube needs more of such kindness)

Did you study singing or did you learn by yourself? What does music mean to you?
I’m taking vocal classes once every 2 weeks, but since my youth, I already liked to sing a lot. Maybe not that good, but it’s a start. The more I practice, the better I get. When I compose music, I completely put my head in that space and let anything else, like time, pass me by. For the rest, music has had a huge impact, because my paternal niece Marielle Woltring AKA Lavalu is a pop musician, mostly known in the Netherlands, Belgium and Germany. My great-grandma was, if I remember it correctly, a part-time opera singer. My parents are part-time in a choir, next to their current jobs. My sister is part of ‘Dame Blanche Music’, a Dutch acoustic duo that mostly covers French and English songs. To make a long story short, music has been in the family for years.

You released some self-produced songs about social issues, such as drugs abuse. Do you think music can also have concrete effects?
I’ve never really thought about that. I just like to send my music, mostly with messages, to other people throughout the entire world.

So, you worked with the Dutch symphonic metal band EPICA… Tell us all about this fantastic experience! How did you feel? How was it to meet some of your favourite musicians?
One of my colleagues from the public elementary school I work at, told me about this particular TV-show (A/N: Niks te gek) , in which mentally disabled people get their wishes granted. That really got my interest, so I sent in my wish of recording one of my self-written songs with one of my favorite bands. That happened to be EPICA. I was really excited and nervous when I met them. But after playing ‘Forevermore’, I felt relieved and a lot more relaxed, as if a burden was taken out of my back, haha.

Did you write Forevermore? What inspired you? What is the meaning of the lyrics?
Yes, I wrote the song myself. At that time, it was still called Stairway to Heaven, though. I once listened to a couple of Van Canto’s songs (Water, Fire, Heaven, Earth and Hearted) and Our Farewell by Within Temptation. Then, I came up with this great idea to combine the music of these songs and add my own lyrics to it. The lyrics actually tell the story of a boy, who meets an angel. She gives him the feeling that they belong together, even though their worlds lie far apart, and thus wants to take him to heaven. A devil however tries to pull the boy down into his world, in which he doesn’t succeed, because of the angel’s positive energy.

Tell us 3 things you love and 3 things you hate.
I love to read a good fantasy/adventure book, play HOG’s (Hidden Object Games) on my computer and watch animated/live-action series. I hate it when I don’t get accepted for who and what I am, when my beloved ones (friends and family) get hurt and when I get bullied.

The interview is almost over!
Yeah, I could’ve told you a lot more, but as my mother/manager always says, you can’t always have what you want.

Leave a message to everyone! If you have something to say, speak now or forever hold your peace! =)
Believe in yourself, be true to yourself, hold on to life, dare to live your dreams, stand up for yourself and don’t let anyone take you down.

di Simone A.

6 thoughts on “An interview with Ruud Woltring

  1. Pingback: Home enhancement? Yes, prosper You Can! I Promise! | loreenharis

  2. Admiring the dedication you put into your site and
    detailed information you present. It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed information.
    Fantastic read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS
    feeds to my Google account.

  3. Pingback: Intervista a Ruurd Woltring | La Voce

Lascia un Commento! (Sii responsabile, stai scrivendo al mondo)

